claridge.jpg

John Claridge

John Claridge was born in London's East End in 1944. He began taking photographs at the age of eight with a plastic camera won at a local funfair. He left school at fifteen and took a job in the photography department at McCann-Erickson, becoming David Montgomery's assistant. During his two years there, he was inspired by many, including the legendary designer Robert Brownjohn. When just seventeen, he turned up on the doorstep of Bill Brandt's Hampstead home to present the renowned photographer with a print, and was received with courtesy and kindness. In 1963, he opened a studio near St. Paul's Cathedral, specialising in magazine work and advertising. He pursued a career in advertising until recently, producing work for many large corporations.

John Claridge's work is held in museums and private collections worldwide, notably the Arts Council of Great Britain, the Victoria & Albert Museum, the National Portrait Gallery, and the Museum of Modern Art.

In 1967, he wrote, produced, and shot a controversial short film, Five Soldiers, about the American Civil War, with implicit allusion to the Vietnam War.

He has published six books: "South American Portfolio" (1982), "One Hundred Photographs" (1988), "Seven Days in Havana" (2000), "8 Hours" (2002), "In Shadows I Dream" (2003) and "East London" (2007).

The photography critic and historianHelena Srakočić-Kovačon John Claridge:

When you decided to pull back from advertising which, I think, is such a shame because you revolutionised it and elevated it to an art form you have been substituting it with work of equivalent value, guts and visual strength but so very different so much to see to me at times it appears as if it's not yours unstructured and scattered in its beauty you used to tell stories and now it's more about feelings and moments in life

claridge.jpg

 

John Claridge

John Claridge commence la photographie à l’âge de huit ans avec un appareil en plastique gagné à une fête foraine locale. Il quitte l’école à quinze ans, prend un poste dans le département de photographie chez McCann-Erickson, et devient assistant de David Montgomery. Il y reste deux ans, s’inspirant entre autres du designer légendaire Robert Brownjohn. A tout juste dix-sept ans, il frappe à la porte de la résidence de Bill Brandt à Hampstead afin d’offrir un tirage au grand photographe. Il est reçu avec courtoisie et gentillesse. En 1963, il ouvre un atelier près de la cathédrale de Saint-Paul, se spécialisant dans les revues et la publicité. Il poursuit sa carrière jusqu’à récemment dans la publicité, en travaillant pour nombreuses sociétés importantes.

Ses œuvres se trouvent dans des musées et des collections privées partout dans le monde, notamment à The Arts Council of Great Britain,  au Victoria and Albert Museum, à la National Portrait Gallery, et au Museum of Modern Art.

En 1967, il écrit, produit, et filme un court-métrage controversé, Five Soldiers, sur la guerre civile américaine, faisant allusion implicite à la guerre au Vietnam.

John Claridge a publié sept livres : South American Portfolio (1982), One Hundred Photographs (1988), Seven Days in Havana (2000), 8 Hours (2002), In Shadows I Dream (2003),  East London (2007), et East End (2016). Il prépare actuellement un livre de portraits d'anciens boxeurs, le sujet d'une exposition à Mind's Eye en 2015.

 

 

 

Propos de Helena Srakočić-Kovač, critique et historienne de la photographie, sur John Claridge : 

Quand tu as décidé de te retirer de la publicité … ce qui est, je pense, un drame, parce que tu l’as revolutionnée et élevée à la forme d’une art … tu y as substitué un travail d’une valeur équivalente, des tripes et une force visuelle, quoique très différente … Tellement à voir ... Il m’apparait parfois comme s’il n’était pas le tien ... Déstructurée et éparpillé dans sa beauté … Tu racontais des histoires, et maintenant c’est plus une question de sentiments et de moments de vie …