autoprtrait_sabourdy.jpg

BENOIT SABOURDY

Born in 1968, self-taught, but having taken courses in  professional photography in Paris in 2003, Benoit Sabourdy has always conducted experiments with film-based photography, whether before the arrival of the digital era in using special effects (filters, movement, focus) or from his very first steps in the darkroom, where he discovered that accidents sometimes result in interesting images.

Little by little, as his eye became attuned, he studied the history of photography and its various currents, discovering that he had invented nothing new, that essentially  everything had been done before.

He gradually distanced himself from conventional photography and the "fine print", while not losing the taste and respect that he has for it, feeling more in tune with the avant-garde photography of the twenties and the experimentalist movements of the sixties and eighties.  

Realising the need to employ unorthodox techniques in order to express his particular photographic vision, Benoit Sabourdy has resolutely adopted the technique that he likes to refer to as multi-exposure (due to its character of repeated exposure to sunlight) and has elaborated a project which seeks to question the nature of the photosensitive and its relation to memory and also the photographic act.

Based mainly in an urban setting, and exploiting the techniques of multiple exposure and superimposition, my photographic approach originates from experiments with photo-sensitive materials.

Indeed, what remains of the representation of the subject of a photograph after repeated exposure to light and a succession of shutter releases, of its association with time and place, and also of the movements of my body? A singular fragmentation.

This process of repetition with the camera has led me to develop a special way of thinking about photographic practice. There are also reflections on the history of photography that the camera obscura enables me to record. Lines and volumes appear, a "new reality" is created: images are born whose graphic quality is willingly mysterious...

This approach allows me to produce images which might well come from "another time" and which arise from a desire to not represent reality, or perhaps to represent it in a different way...

Starting from sequential geometries and unlikely associations of planes and frames, the final image pertains to dreams, to vestiges of moments and to the imagination; also to the memory of photosensitive materials. It is a means of expression which involves at one and the same time a  reference to the dimension of time in the preparation of an image, an imprint of the movement of my body, and the evolutionary process of interpreting this same image by he or she who is contemplating it.

BENOIT SABOURDY

BENOIT SABOURDY

autoportrait_sabourdy.jpgNé en 1968, autodidacte ayant suivi des cours de photographe-praticien en 2003 à Paris, Benoit Sabourdy a toujours un peu "bricolé" avec la photographie argentique, que ce soit à l'époque d'avant l'arrivée du numérique, avec l'utilisation d'effets (filtre, bougés, flous...) ou dés ses débuts en chambre noire où il découvre que les accidents de laboratoire peuvent avoir un intérêt. 

Peu à peu, son œil s'exerce et il étudie l'histoire de la photographie et ses différents courants, découvre qu'il n'invente rien et que tout ou presque a été fait avant lui. Il s'écarte petit à petit de la photographie conventionnelle et du "beau tirage" sans en perdre le goût et le respect qu'il a pour elle. Se rallie aisément aux courants des avant-gardes des années 20 et des expérimentations des années 60 et 80.

Découvrant que l'utilisation d'un mode opératoire spécifique lui est nécessaire pour établir une expression photographique singulière, Benoit Sabourdy adopte résolument la technique de la sur-impression qu'il aime aussi nommer multi-exposition (en raison de son caractère de répétition de l'insolation du négatif) et élabore un travail qui cherche à questionner la nature du photosensible et de son rapport à la mémoire, et aussi de l'acte photographique.

 Basée principalement en milieu urbain et à partir de la technique de la multi-exposition ou surimpression, ma démarche photographique découle d'une expérience avec le photosensible.

En effet, que reste-t-il de la représentation du sujet photographié après la démultiplication par la lumière, les suites de déclenchements de l’obturateur, les associations de temps et de lieux, ou bien le mouvement de mon corps ? Des fragmentations singulières. 

Ce processus de répétition avec l'appareil m’amène à constituer un imaginaire singulier de la pratique de la photographie. Ce sont aussi des réminiscences de l’histoire de la photographie que la camera obscura me permet d'enregistrer. Des lignes et des volumes apparaissent, un “nouveau réel” se crée : en résulte un graphisme de l'image volontairement mystérieux... 

Cette démarche m'amène à produire des images susceptibles d'appartenir à un “temps autre” et découle d'une volonté de non-représentation du réel ou bien peut-être le représenter autrement... 

A partir de géométries séquentielles et d'associations improbables de plans et de cadrages l'ensemble relève du rêve, de l'instant résiduel et de l'imaginaire, et aussi de la mémoire du photosensible. C'est un mode d’expression impliquant à la fois une référence à la dimension temporelle dans l'élaboration de l'image, une empreinte du mouvement de mon corps et une évolution du processus de lecture de cette même image par celui qui la regarde.

BENOIT SABOURDY